Kyle Gann: Minute Symphony

To celebrate their 15th birthday, the Seattle Chamber Players asked me and several other composers to write one-minute pieces to play between other pieces on their concerts. I joked to a colleague about how mine was going to be in four movements, and then decided that was a good idea. Fifteen seconds is a good length for an idea, five minutes a good length for a piece, but one minute is difficult, too long for an idea and not long enough to create form. So I made an entire symphony, with sonata-allegro form, adagio, scherzo, and rondo. It actually lasts around 80 seconds. I wrote the piece on June 30, 2004, and the Seattle Chamber Players premiered it November 12, 2004.

PDF score here.

- Kyle Gann

Return to List of Compositions

return to the home page